“We believe that our employees are our most valuable assets and that every accident or injury is preventable.
Our vision at TNW is that all of our properties will operate free of accidents and injuries.”

TNW will achieve this vision through:

An environment that provides continuous self-examination as to the effectiveness of our safety processes and performance.

A Culture of Teamwork and Rules compliance and training that allows our employees to make safety essential to the tasks we perform.

Empowering our entire workforce to take responsibility for personal and team safety, have the courage to speak up about unsafe practices, the safety of fellow employees, and the safety of the communities in which we serve.

Inspiring our employees to have a mindset to look for hazards on and off the job that could affect themselves, co-workers or family and friends.

TNW 2015 safety logo
TNW primary_exposures safety poster
TNW Corp deadly_decisions safety poster

Railroad Safety Teams


Veronica Torres and Jeremy Leal


Viel Flores and Johnny Long

Johnny Long and Viel Flores


Isaiah Salazar and Jonathan Jones

Isaiah Salazar and Jonathan Jones


TNW Corporation has partnered with Operation Heartsaver to provide training classes to all of our employees at each railway.  Operation Heartsaver training is offered periodically to our employees to teach valuable skills that can help if they are in an emergency situation involving co-workers, family or their community.

TXGN CPR E training
txnw safety training


The Jake Awards program was created in 1995 to recognize outstanding safety achievements in the short line railroad industry.  In 1999, ASLRRA Safety Committee adopted the Jake Awards to continue the legacy of rewarding and drawing attention to the high standards of the small railroad industry.

jake awards
  • 2017 – TXNW
  • 2016 – TXR
  • 2015 – TXR
  • 2014 – TXGN
  • 2013 – TXGN, TXR2012 – TXGN, TXR
  • 2011 – TXR
  • 2010 – TXGN, TXNW
  • 2009 – TXNW, TXR
  • 2008 – TXGN, TXNW, TXR
  • 2007 – TXR
  • 2006 – TXR
  • 2004 – TXGN, TXNW, TXR
  • 2003 – TXGN, TXNW
  • 2002 – TXNW, TXR
  • 2001 – TXGN, TXR
  • 2000 – TXGN, TXR
  • 1999 – TXR
  • 1998 – TXNW, TXR